University of Novi Sad

The University of Novi Sad (Serbian: Универзитет у Новом СадуUniverzitet u Novom Sadu) is a university located in Novi Sad, the capital of the Serbian province of Vojvodina and the second largest city in Serbia.

The University of Novi Sad is the second largest among six state universities in Serbia, behind the University of Belgrade. Having invested considerable efforts in intensifying international cooperation and participating in the process of university reforms in Europe, the University of Novi Sad has come to be recognized as a reform-oriented university in the region and on the map of universities in Europe.

Novi Sad and Vojvodina have always been major centers of culture and education in Serbia. Although the contemporary University of Novi Sad was established in 1960 with its modern campus, Novi Sad and the whole region have a record of education starting from the 11th century with religious seminaries.

The administrative bodies are the Rector and the University Council. The professional University body is the Senate and its subordinated Councils. The University is composed of 14 faculties located in the four cities of Vojvodina: Novi Sad, Subotica, Zrenjanin, and Sombor. The University comprises the following faculties in order of their founding:

  • Faculty of Philosophy in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Agriculture in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Law in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Technology in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Economics in Subotica
  • Faculty of Technical Sciences in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Medicine in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Sciences in Novi Sad
  • Academy of Arts in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Civil Engineering in Subotica
  • “Mihajlo Pupin” Technical Faculty in Zrenjanin
  • Faculty of Physical Education in Novi Sad
  • Faculty of Education in Sombor
  • Teachers’ Training Faculty in Hungarian in Subotica